Ecology Defense

25 Jun 2001

Frontline Information Service - News 6/25/01



In 1981, Sarah Kite of the British Union Against Vivisection, worked inside the HLS lab in Huntingdon. She worked for six months in rodent toxicology where she witnessed incredible suffering and the animals used in studies were described by one animal technician as, "rotting, but still alive." Most of the rats in rodent toxicology were being "sacrificed" for a study testing a new tanning lotion. Sarah spent her last two months working in dog toxicology. The beagles, during the time she worked there, were being used to test the toxicology of pesticides, dental hygiene products, and food wrapping plastic. She was told by her supervisors not to play or touch the puppies because it was a waste of her work time...Her investigation splashed HLS' name in the national press and offered the public its first glimpse inside the notorious laboratory.

Every week there will be a week-long phone/e-mail blockade against one of HLS investors. Some of these investors will be big companies and others will be private investors. We will target a new investor each week. We need EVERYONE to take a few minutes each day and let these investors know that by supporting HLS, they are supporting animal abuse and torture.

Show them that WE ARE NOT GOING TO TAKE IT ANYMORE! Let's hit them where it hurt-their pockets!



Morgan Stanley (otherwise known as Morgan Stanley Dean Witter & Co.) has very recently made a purchase of approximently 22 MILLION shares of HLS. Morgan Stanley is a global financial services firm. They are a market leader in securities, asset management and credit services.

According to Morgan Stanley, they "connect people, ideas and capital to help clients achieve their financial aspirations." Also there are three main groups that Morgan Stanley serves: clients, shareholders and employees...

Morgan Stanley
1585 Braodway
New York, NY 10036
Toll free: 1-888-368-5351
Tele: 1-212-761-4000
Fax: 1-212-761-0086

Website: www.morganstanley.com

Firmwide Requiting:
1221 6th Ave, 44th floor
New York, NY 10020
Fax: 1-212-762-9242

Morgan Stanley, Online:
280 West 10200
South Sandy, UT 84070
Toll free: 1-800-688-6896
Tele: 1-415-537-8690


Pinnacle Building
3455 Peachtree Road Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30326
Telephone: 1-404-949-4100


6300 Bridgepoint Parkway
Suite 125
Austin, TX 78730
Tele: 1-512-478-7800
Fax: 1-512-478-9672


2 International Place, 23rd Floor
Boston, MA 02110
Tele: 1-617-856-8700
Fax: 1-617-856-8019

1 International Place, 13th Floor
Boston, MA 02110
Tele: 1-617-856-8700
Fax: 1-617-856-8020


440 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60605
Tele: 1-312-706-4000
Fax: 1-312-706-4710


4582 South Ulster Street Parkway, Suite 300
Denver, CO 80237
Tele: 1-303-771-0808
Fax: 1-303-850-0418


Chase Tower
600 Travis, Suite 3700
Houston, TX 77002-2993
Tele: 1-713-512-4400
Fax: 1-713-512-4559


Morgan Stanley
1999 Avenue of the Stars
Suite 2400 & 2000
Los Angeles, CA 90067
Tele: 1-310-788-2000
Fax: 1-310-788-2048


3000 Sand Hill Road
Building 4, Suite 250
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tele: 1-650-233-2500
Fax: 1-650-233-2626

2725 Sand Hill Road
Building C, Suite 200
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tele: 1-650-234-5500


555 California Street, Suite 2200
San Francisco, CA 94104
Telephone: 1-415-576-2000


2 Penn Plaza, 22nd floor
New York, NY 10036
Toll free: 1-800-573-7362
Tele: 1-212-613-6700

1345 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036
Tele: 1-212-903-7600

330 Madison Ave
New York, NY 10036
Toll free: 1-800-4635
Tele: 1-212-883-7700


200 South Orange Avenue
Suite 1440
Orlando, FL 32801
Tele: 1-407-422-2505
Fax: 1-407-422-2507


Investment Management
Miller Anderson & Sherrerd, LLP
One Tower Bridge, Suite 1100
West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2899
Tele: 1-610-940-5000
Fax: 1-610-260-7093

25 Cabot Square
Canary Wharf, London E14 4QA
Tele: 0207-513-8000

The Most Important Ones to Contact:


Craig Phillips: Managing Director and Global Co-Head
Tele: 1-212-761-1320
Fax: 1-212-761-0709

Karl Essig: Managing Director and Global Co-Head (Located in Hong Kong)
Tele: 00-81-3-5424-7825


Andy Neuberger: Vice-President
Tele: 1-212-761-4242
Fax: 1-212-761-0093

Mark Bavoso: Senior VP of MSDW Advisors; One of the Top Investment Mgrs

Donald G. Kemp, Jr: MS, Executive VP, Chief Legal Officer and Member of the
Management commitee

Nick Turner: Exec. Director at MS in London, responsible for developing
corporate strategy


Other Contacts:

Howard I. Hoffen: Morgan Stanley Private Equity: Chairman and CEO

Morgan Stanley Private Equity: Vice Presidents:
Robert J.Lorarie: robert.loarie@maorganstanley.com
Ron Gloan: ron.golan@ msdw.com
Sam Abboud: sam.abboud@morganstanley.com
Grace Voorhis: grace.voorhis@moorganstanley.com
Gregory Myers: gregory.myers@morganstanley.com
Honorio Poblador: honorio.poblador@morganstanley.com
Marc O. Thiery: marc.thiery@msdw.com

Morgan Stanley Private Equity: Managing Directors:
Louis Colosimo: louis.colosimo@morganstanley.com
Warren Friend: warren.friend@morganstanley.com
Francine Mozer: francine.mozer@morganstanley.com
Kevin Rodman: kevin.rodman@morganstanley.com
Dennis Scurlette: dennis.scurlette@morganstanley.com
Anthony Tufariello: anthony.tufariello@morganstanley.com
Gail McDonnell: gail.mcdonnell@morganstanley.com
David Warren: david.warren@morganstanley.com
John Westerfield: john.westerfield@morganstanley.com
Guy L. De Chazal: gustavo.schwed@morganstanley.com

Morgan Stanley Private Equity: Principles:
Ghassan Bejjani: ghassan.bejjani@morganstanley.com
H. Chin Chou: chin.chou@morganstanley.com
Eric T. Fry: eric.fry@morganstanley.com
Edmund A. Lazarus: edmund.lazarus@msdw.com
Maoh J. Walley: noah.walley@morganstanley.com

James F. Higgins: President & CEO of MS's brokerage operations

Jami Rubin: Pharmaceutical Analyst

Jeff Dritley: Real Estate Funds

Jeff Hall: Senior VP, Investments Syndicate Coordinator

John Garner: Stock Broker for MSDW

Kevin Hales: Senior Network Engineer, MSDW ONLINE

Siwei Zhang: MS Online
CELL PHONE: 1-415-254-1115
Tele: 1-925-249-0888

Tracey Ivy: Consultant Relations

Rick Woolworth: Head of U.S. Institutional Coverage

Mary Cole: Financial Advisor

Morgan Stanley Private Equity, Managing Directors:
Michael C. Hoffman: michael.hoffman@morganstanley.com
Debra Abramovitz: debra.abramovitz@morganstanley.com

Lorraine Derensis: Assistant VP, Equity Researc Marketing

Ravindra Joseph: Managing Director and European Head, UK

Executive Directors, UK
Ellen Brunsberg: ellen.brunsberg@morganstanley.com
Steve Din: stephen.din@morganstanley.com
Timothy Drayson: timothy.drayson@morganstanley.com
Guido Lombardo: guido.lombardo@morganstanley.com
Paul Rolles: paul.rolles@morganstanley.com

**Please take the time to put your feelings and outrage into your own words, someone has to read these letters and emails. It would be much more effective if they read a veriety of letters, not just a form letter.


I am writing to urge you to discontinue your investment with Huntingdon Life Sciences (HLS). Animals are sentient, living beings and should not be used for experimentation or anger relief for staff members. Since the publicity, I am certain you are now aware of the horrendous pain and suffering animals at Huntingdon endure. Tests which force the animals to consume toxic doses of various chemicals, inhale noxious fumes, and have caustic chemicals applied to their raw skin is horrendous. What is even more outlandish is documentation showing staff throwing beagle puppies against walls and punching them in the face. This is simply not good business. There are numerous companies discontinuing animal experimentation and instead, using computer simulations and the vast amount of previously accumulated data. You have the power and the ability to do something about the excruciating pain an annual 180,000 animals suffer. First, as an investor, you can demand they change their practices and you can demand the staff have psychological treatment. Second, you can cease your ownership of HLS stock and not invest in any other company practicing archaic and brutal animal research. I also encourage you to look beyond the bottom line when making future investments. Compassionate individuals, like yourself, with the gift of financial resources to invest can create long-term, far-reaching consequences toward a more benevolent world.


For More Information:


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
F R O N T L I N E - N E W S Now With 3800+ Subscribers!
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Brought to you by http://www.animalliberation.net

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Questions? Please read our FAQ before e-mailing us. http://www.animalliberation.net/about/faq.html

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Would you like to Unsubscribe or Subscribe to the Frontline-News mailing list?


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- For general questions, feedback and requests: infosite-mail@usa.net

- For problems with Frontline-News Mailing List: owner-frontline-news@waste.org

- Frontline Information Service/animal-liberation.net administrator: frontline@rocketmail.com

PGP keys available at: http://www.animalliberation.net/about/pgpkey.asc

Animal Liberation Frontline Information Service bringing you uncensored news from around the world since 1994


The views and opinions stated within this web page are those of the author or authors which copyrighted and wrote them and may not reflect the views and opinions of the ISP or account user which hosts the web page. The opinions may or may not be those of the Chairman of The Skeptic Tank.

Return to the Ecology Defense main index page Return to The Skeptic Tank's main index page.

E-Mail Fredric L. Rice / The Skeptic Tank